Oakland’s Board of Port Commissioners Elects New Officers

Press Releases

For Immediate Release
July 30, 2012

Oakland’s Board of Port Commissioners Elects New Officers

President Gilda Gonzales
Gilda Gonzales
1st VP James W. Head
1st Vice-President
James W. Head
2nd VP Alan S. Yee
2nd Vice-President
Alan S. Yee

Oakland, CA — July 30, 2012 — The Oakland Board of Port Commissioners has three new officers. The Port Board approved a resolution officially ratifying the election of new officers July 26, 2012. The Port Board elected Commissioner Gilda Gonzales to serve as president of the board. Commissioner James W. Head was elected to serve as 1st vice president (1st VP) and Commissioner Alan S. Yee was elected to serve as 2nd vice president (2nd VP).

Outgoing Port Commission President Pamela Calloway said, “It has been a privilege to serve with my fellow commissioners. Together with Port of Oakland staff we have made significant progress creating at least 777 new permanent direct jobs and more than 1,500 one-time construction jobs. Oakland International Airport is seeing a record high number of markets served since its beginning 85 years ago; the largest containership ever to call North America called Oakland demonstrating our global competitiveness; and we completed the first phase of our shore power program at our seaport. I look forward to seeing the Port grow and prosper for Oakland and the larger California community.”

After the ratification of the election, the Port Board’s new president Gilda Gonzales stated, “It is an honor to serve my esteemed colleagues, the Port of Oakland staff and the public as president of the board. I am pleased to accept this position and will be fully dedicated to providing responsible leadership as we move the Port forward over the fiscal year.”

President Gonzales – Gilda Gonzales, who is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the Unity Council, has a long history of public service. For over 20 years, she has been a respected leader in federal, state and local government positions, often bringing her strategic thinking, energy and direct style to drive the development and passage of key initiatives. Ms. Gonzales began her career as a California State Assembly Fellow working in the California State Legislature. In 1991, she began her career in Oakland City Hall serving as Policy Analyst to former Mayor Elihu Harris. During her fourteen year career in Oakland City Hall, she gained a vast knowledge in municipal financing and budgeting, public policy, economic development and government relations respectively. She served in several capacities from budget analyst, Special Assistant to the Finance Agency Director, Intergovernmental Affairs Director, and Chief of Staff to former City Manager Robert Bobb and Mayor Jerry Brown.

In 2004, Ms. Gonzales was named the chief executive officer for the Unity Council. The Unity Council is a non-profit community development corporation committed to enriching the quality of life of families and individuals primarily in the Fruitvale district of Oakland. Ms. Gonzales currently serves on the State Farm Bank National CRA Advisory Board, Bay Area Council Economic Institute Board of Trustees, and Fruitful Minds – a local non-profit. Originally from the Central Valley (Atwater), she attended and received a Bachelor’s degree in Industrial Psychology from St. Mary’s College (Moraga, CA), and a Master’s of Public Administration from California State University, East Bay.

1st VP Head – James W. Head has served as director of programs for the San Francisco Foundation, a regional community foundation, which provides resources and support to organizations serving five Bay Area communities. He has over 30 years of experience in the fields of philanthropy and grant making; nonprofit management and technical assistance; community and economic development; and public interest law. Prior to joining the foundation in 2004, Mr. Head was president of the National Economic Development and Law Center (NEDLC) for 18 years. Additionally, Mr. Head has served for many years as legal counsel of the California Community Economic Development Association (CCEDA) and has been a member of numerous foundation advisory boards, including the Open Society Foundation of New York, the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation of Michigan and the Columbian Foundation of San Francisco. Mr. Head received his juris doctorate from the University of Georgia School of Law and has bar memberships in Georgia, Florida, and California.

2nd VP Yee – Alan S. Yee has more than 30 years of legal experience. Commissioner Yee serves as partner in the law firm of Siegel & Yee. Mr. Yee has litigated commercial cases involving trade and international commerce, representing businesses in trade with companies in China, Hong Kong and Taiwan. He received his bachelor’s degree in 1974 from Princeton University and his juris doctorate in 1978 from the University of California’s Boalt Hall School of Law in Berkeley. Commissioner Yee also has an extensive history of community involvement and public service. Mr. Yee was elected as a trustee of the Peralta Community Colleges and served as its president in 1994. He was appointed to the City of Oakland’s Police Review Commission and served as its chair 1997-2000. Mr. Yee has also served on the boards of the Chinatown/Central District Community Development Council for the City of Oakland, the Oakland Intergovernmental Council and the East Bay Conversion and Reinvestment Commission.

Commissioner Yee has received numerous commendations and awards for his service, including: State Bar of California President’s Pro Bono Service Award, 2004; Asian Health Services 35th Anniversary Honoree Award, 2009; East Bay Asian Local Development Corporation Gerald Leo Award, 2008; Oakland Chinatown Chamber of Commerce Award for Promoting Community Development, 2003; City of Oakland City Council Proclamation for Exemplary Services to the Community, 2004; and City of Oakland District 4 Local Hero Award, 2007.

About the Oakland Board of Port Commissioners:
The Port of Oakland is governed by a seven-member Board of Port Commissioners. The Board oversees the use of income from Port properties, stretching from the borders of Emeryville in the north to San Leandro in the south. The commissioners are nominated by the Mayor of Oakland and appointed by the Oakland City Council. They are residents of the City of Oakland and serve staggered four-year terms without compensation. Their responsibilities are vast and require a great deal of their time, all donated to the Port.

About the Port of Oakland:
The Port of Oakland oversees the Oakland seaport, Oakland International Airport, and 20 miles of waterfront. The Oakland seaport is the fifth busiest container port in the U.S.; Oakland International Airport is the second largest San Francisco Bay Area airport offering over 300 daily passenger and cargo flights; and the Port’s real estate includes commercial developments such as Jack London Square and hundreds of acres of public parks and conservation areas. Together, through Port operations and those of its tenants and users, the Port supports more than 73,000 jobs in the region and nearly 827,000 jobs across the United States. The Port of Oakland was established in 1927 and is an independent department of the City of Oakland. Connect with the Port of Oakland and Oakland International Airport through Facebook, or with the Port on TwitterYouTube, and at www.portofoakland.com.


Isaac Kos-Read
Director of External Affairs
(510) 627-1565
[email protected]


Media & Newsroom

Not sure who to contact or have a general question? Use our contact form to route your request